Vinay stripped from captaincy, Manish Pandey to lead Karnataka

PC: Vinay Kumar/Twitter

Bengaluru, September 26: For the next two Vijay Hazare Trophy matches, R. Vinay Kumar has been stripped from captaincy by the senior selection committee featuring Raghuram Bhat, Dodda Ganesh, C. Raghu and Fazal Khaleel. The move comes in after a dismal start to the domestic season by the defending champions.

Being one of the successful skippers in the history of Karnataka, Vinay’s side registered three back-to-back losses in the limited overs tournament and is yet to taste a win. These results have come as rude shock to the fans and the selectors have now named Manish Pandey as the successor, who returns from a triumphant run at the Asia Cup. In the past, Pandey has led Karnataka on few occasions.

PC: Twitter            Manish Pandey

After relegating Vinay, even the experienced duo CM Gautam and Stuart Binny have also been omitted from the team for the upcoming clash on Sunday against two  struggling sides Vidarbha, who have lost three matches while Railways (October 4) all the four.

In the revamped squad, wicket-keeper Sharath Srinivas, who comes in for Gautam, is unlikely to walk straight into playing XI while Anirudhha Joshi, who had a decent outing in the first division league and the KPL, will replace Stuart Binny. Sharath BR is expected to take up the ’keeper’s role.

Middle-order batsman Mir Kaunian Abbas and pacer T Pradeep, who is returning from an injury, have been included as Karnataka trio Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair and Prasidh Krishna are in the Board President’s XI squad against West Indies at the ongoing two-day warm-up game in Baroda.

So, where has Abbas scored? He has just 47 runs (15.67 avg) in 2 matches in Dr. (Capt.) K. Thimmappiah Memorial All-India Tournament, 118 runs from 6 innings in the KPL-7 and 365 runs from 11 matches (3-50s, 36.50 avg) in the first division league.

Meanwhile, KV Siddharth has scored 452 runs in 4 matches (2-50s, 1-100s, 64.57 avg) in the K. Thimmappiah Memorial, 554 runs (2-50s, 2-100s, Avg 55.40) in the top flight league and in the YS Ramaswamy Memorial Tournament, his four innings includes 112, 110*, 60* and 24* . So, why was he not considered?

Surprisingly, Jawahar Sports Club’s spinner KC Cariappa (31 wickets, 15.23 avg, KSCA 1st division and 25 wickets in Dr. (Capt.) K. Thimmappiah Memorial Tournament). The in-form spinner is in great form this season compared to Joshi.

It is absurd that Joshi has been considered as an all-rounder. He has just scored 118 runs and bagged only two wickets in four matches at the K. Thimmappiah memorial.

All-rounder Shreyas Gopal has managed to save his spot in the squad despite a miserable performance. The leg-spinner has not just been expensive but has not even picked up a wicket in three matches.

Squad: Manish Pandey (captain), Vinay Kumar R, Samarth R, Anirudh Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Gowtham K, Shreyas Gopal, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mir Kaunian Abbas, Suchith J, Abhishek Reddy, Pradeep T, Naveen MG, Sharath BR (WK), Sharath Srinivas (WK), Coach: Yere Goud; Bowling coach: Sreenath Arvind.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six + sixteen =