5-a-side: Hockey Karnataka crowned champions


Bengaluru, September 23: Hockey Karnataka produced a fantastic display in the final of the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior Men’s National Championship 2018 here on Sunda.

In the title clash, the hosts edged out Hockey Haryana 4-3 and become the champions of the competition for the second year running.

The final saw Hockey Karnataka take a two-goal lead after nine minutes, but Hockey Haryana did not back down and scored twice in the second period to make the scores 2-2. Two goals in the last four minutes by the hosts saw them secure an emphatic 4-3 win as Hockey Haryana only managed to score one goal. All four of Hockey Karnataka’s goals were scored by Mohammed Raheel Mouseen in the 9th, 9th, 17th and 20th minutes while Gagandeep Singh (10′), Manpreet (12′) and Bharat (18′) scored the goals for Hockey Haryana.

The Bronze Medal match saw Hockey Maharashtra defeat Hockey Odisha 5-4 to complete a double Bronze Medal finish at this year’s competition as their Women’s team also finished third in the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Women). It was Hockey Odisha who twice took the lead inside the opening five minutes, but Hockey Maharashtra scored four goals in ten minutes to stamp their authority on the match and eventually prevail as the victors. Goals for Hockey Maharashtra were scored by Sayyad Niyaz Rahim (2′, 17′), skipper Tyron Pereira (8′, 10′) and Ulsan Mundu (8′) while Tikei Kujur (1′, 18′), Teophil Kujur (5′) and Prakash Barla (20′) scored for Hockey Odisha in an entertaining match.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

seventeen − one =