5-a-side hockey: Karnataka men storm into semifinals


Bengaluru, September 21: Hockey Karnataka registered a comfortable 8-1 victory against Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu in the quarterfinals of the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Men) here on Friday.

Mohammed Raheel Mouseen starred in the match with four fabulous goals 10th, 13th, 17th and 18th minute of the match while Abharan Sudev scored the opening goal for the home team in the 7th minute. Pruthvi Raj (10′), Likith KB (15′) and KP Somaiah (19′) scored a goal each in Hockey Karnataka’s win. For Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Senthil R Nayagam (19′) scored a consolation goal.

On September 23, Hockey Karnataka will take on Hockey Odisha in the first Semi Final match.

In the second quarters, Hockey Odisha beat Uttar Pradesh Hockey 2-0 in a tense shootout after a 4-4 draw in regulation time. It was Teophil Kujur and Prakash Barla who converted the goals for Hockey Odisha in the shootout while, Teophil (2′,6′) had earlier scored a double in regulation time and Krishna Tirkey (18′), Nitin Mukesh Tigga (20′) also scored in Hockey Odisha’s win.

Hockey Punjab meanwhile lost to Hockey Maharashtra 3-5 in a closely fought match. Tyron Pereira (5′,9′), Rahim Sayyad Niyaz (13′, 20′), Aniket Gurav (19′) scored in Hockey Maharashtra’s win. Satbir Singh (8′), Jaskaran Singh (12′) and Parvinder Singh (19′) scored for Hockey Punjab. Hockey Maharashtra will next play the semifinals on Sunday against Hockey Haryana.

In the fourth quarterfinals, Hockey Haryana beat Hockey Jharkhand 5-3. Jagwant Singh (4′), Shivdeep (8′), Bharat (11′), Pardeep Mor (12′), Gagandeep Singh (15′) scored in Hockey Haryana’s win while Noyel Topno (16′, 19′) and Vijay Xess (17′) scored for Hockey Jharkhand.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

two × 3 =