5-a-side hockey: Karnataka women make exit


Bengaluru, September 21: The Quarter-Final matches of the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (women) took place here today which saw Hockey Haryana, Hockey Punjab, Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Maharashtra secure their berths in the Semifinals of the competition.

The first quarterfinals saw Hockey Haryana defeat Uttar Pradesh Hockey 5-1 in an exciting match. Hockey Haryana scored twice in the opening period to take a two-goal advantage through Manpreet Kaur (8′) and skipper Poonam Rani (9′). Uttar Pradesh Hockey pulled a goal back in the 14th minute as their Captain Shyama Tidgam scored, but three goals in the closing four minutes by Hockey Haryana saw them progress to the Semi-Final match of the competition. Goals for Hockey Haryana in the second period were scored by Sonika (17′, 17′) and Amandeep Kaur (18′).

The second quarterfinals of the competition was contested between Hockey Punjab and the hosts Hockey Karnataka which ended 5-3 in the former’s favour. It was a well-matched encounter between the two sides as the first period ended level at 2-2 with Hockey Karnataka cancelling Hockey Punjab’s lead twice. The hosts took the lead for the first time in the match as they scored in the 12th minute, but three goals in the remaining minutes saw Hockey Punjab eliminate the hosts with a 5-3 victory. Goals for Hockey Punjab were scored by Narinder Kaur (6′, 20′), Rajwinder Kaur (8′, 13′) and Pooja Rani (20′) while HR Anjali (7′), skipper Leelavathy M J Mallamada (9′) and S P Kruthika  (12′) scored for Hockey Karnataka.

The third Quarter-Final saw Hockey Jharkhand also secure their berth in the Semi-Finals as they defeated Hockey Odisha 3-1 in the Penalty Shootout after the scores were tied at 1-1 at the end of regulation time.

Hockey Odisha had taken an early lead in the match as Mariana Kujur scored for them in the 3rd minute. But Hockey Jharkhand equalized in the 7th minute through Pramila Soreng, and neither team managed to score the winner in the remaining stages which meant that the match went into a Penalty Shootout. Hockey Jharkhand’s Pramila Soreng, Alka Dungdung and Simta Ming were all on target and helped their team in securing a Semi-Final spot while Mariana Kujur scored Hockey Odisha’s only goal.

Hockey Maharashtra also maintained their fine form in the competition as they defeated Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu by an emphatic margin of 7-0. Hockey Maharashtra scored four goals in the first period and backed it up with three more in the second period to secure their place in the last-four. Goals for Hockey Maharashtra were scored by Preeti Dubey (2′, 14′), Kavita Vidyarthi (7′, 8′), Sanggai Ibemhal (6′), Aishwarya Chavan (15′) and H Lalruatfeli (20′).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six + 19 =