BCCI Women’s T20 final: Karnataka go down fighting to Punjab


Mumbai, March 13: In the last over of the match, Karnataka just needed six runs but managed to score just two to go down in the final against Punjab in the BCCI Senior Women’s T20 Championship, at the Wankhede Stadium, here on Wednesday.

Having made the final after 15 years, Karnataka women were in chase of a modest target 131 but Punjab bowlers held their nerves to defend and take home the title in style.

Batting first, Punjab rode on Jasia Akhter (56) and Neelam Bisht (27) to post a defendable total. For Karnataka, Simren Henry and G. Divya claimed two wickets each.

In reply, Karnataka were restricted to 127. After a good run with the ball, Divya top-scored with 41 while C Prathyusha contributed 35 which wasn’t enough to take them across the finish line.

Punjab were led by Komalpreet Kour, Sunita Rani and Neelam Bisht, who bagged two wickets each to emerge champions.

Brief scores: Punjab: 131/7 in 20 overs (Jasia Akhter 56, Neelam Bisht 27, Simren Henry 2/26, G. Divya 2/24) bt Karnataka: 127/7 in 20 overs (G Divya 41, C Prathyusha 35, Komalpreet Kour 2/22, Sunita Rani 2/19, Neelam Bisht 2/24) by 4 runs.  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

13 − three =