Fourth Indian Women’s League to get underway at Bengaluru

Players (From L-R): Astrid Pereira (Bidesh XI FC), Shyama Rani (BBK DAV FC), Poli Koley (Sreebhumi FC), Amoolya (Bangalore United FC), Priya Mistry (Baroda FA), Dangmei Grace (Kryphsa  FC), Ashalata Devi (Sethu FC), Manpreet (Kickstart FC), Mrunal Khot (FC Kolhapur), Karishma Oram (Odisha FC), Michel Castanha (Gokulam Kerala FC), Soumya Guguloth (Kenkre FC)

The fourth edition of the Hero Indian Women’s league gets underway at the Bangalore Football Stadium from 24th January 2020. The 21-day long tournament will culminate with the Finals being played on the 14th February 2020.

The first-ever rolling trophy for the Hero Indian Women’s league was unveiled in a glittering ceremony in Bengaluru on Thursday. Captains of the team representing all the 12 teams from 10 states were present along with Sunando Dhar, CEO, League, AIFF, Satya Narayan, General Secretary, KSFA and Maymol Rocky, Head Coach, Indian Women’s National Team.

Kryphsa FC and Kickstart FC will lock horns in the first match on January 24, 2020. 12 teams vying for the top honours in the Hero Indian Women’s League have been divided into two groups of six teams each viz; Group A & Group B.

Group A would consist of Kickstart FC (Karnataka), FC Kolhapur (Maharashtra), Krypsha FC (Manipur), BBK DAV FC (Punjab), Sethu FC (Tamil Nadu) and Baroda FA ( Gujarat) while Group B shall comprise of Kenkre FC (Maharashtra), Gokulam Kerala FC (Kerala), Odisha Police FC (Odisha), Bangalore United FC (Karnataka), Sreebhumi FC (West Bengal), Bidesh XI FC (Goa). Two games will be played on a day at 12 PM and 3 PM and would be streamed LIVE & Exclusive on the Indian Football Team Facebook page.

Each team would play a total of 5 matches in the round-robin league and the top two teams from each group will make their way to the semi-finals. The Semi-final winners thereafter would play the finals on the 14th February 2020, which shall kick-off from 2 PM onwards.

Over INR 20 Lakhs of the cash prize is due to be won in the 4th Hero Indian Women’s League. The Champions shall walk away with the rolling trophy and medals along with a cash prize of INR 10 Lakhs, while the Runner’s UP will get richer by INR 5 Lakhs. The tournament MVP ( Most Valuable Player) would earn a total of INR 1.25 Lakhs, the best goalkeeper would get richer by INR 1 Lakh and the emerging player winner would earn INR 75000 from the tournament. The hero of the Match for each game would earn an additional INR 5000.

N A Harris, President, KSFA lauded AIFF’s decision to organise the final round of the tournament in Bengaluru. “On behalf of the KSFA (Karnataka State Football Association), I would like to thank AIFF for choosing Bengaluru as the host for the final round of Hero IWL 2019-20. It’ll surely give a chance of the football-loving crowd of Bengaluru witness the best women football players in action over the next few days,” said Harris.

The garden city of Bengaluru becomes the fourth city to host the Hero Indian Women’s League after the previous three editions were held at New Delhi (2016-17), Shillong (2017-18) and Ludhiana (2018-19).

Watch the action live on Facebook:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × 2 =