Harendra Singh focuses on Hockey World Cup


New Delhi, September 12: Hockey India on Wednesday named a 25-member Core Group for the National Camp to begin on September 16 at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium, Bhubaneswar. The National Campers will report to chief coach Harendra Singh for a month-long training that concludes on October 14 ahead of the ten-day Asian Champions Trophy to begin on October 18 in Muscat, Oman where the Indian Team will defend the title.

After the disappointment at the 18th Asian Games Jakarta-Palembang where the Indian team ended their campaign with a Bronze Medal after beating Pakistan, the squad will be looking at overcoming the setback and regroup with fresh perspective in the lead up to the much-awaited Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. “The Bronze Medal was a consolation and there is no excuse for not making it to the Final of the 18th Asian Games Jakarta-Palembang. There is no point looking back at the loss but now it’s critical for us to look ahead with a fresh, positive approach,” expressed Chief Coach Harendra Singh.

The 25-member Core Group includes three Goalkeepers PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera and Krishan Pathak while defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurinder Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh and the young Pardeep Singh have been called up for the National Camp.

Among midfielders Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Sumit, Simranjit Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay and  Vivek Sagar Prasad have been selected. The forwards who have made the cut are SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh and Sumit Kumar.

Meanwhile, ace striker Ramandeep Singh who underwent a knee surgery after sustaining an injury during the FIH Champions Trophy along with defender Birendra Lakra who will be under rehab from 16 September 2018.

National Campers List:
P R Sreejesh
Suraj Karkera
Krishan Bahadur Pathak

Harmanpreet Singh
Rupinder Pal Singh
Gurinder Singh
Varun Kumar
Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
Surender Kumar
Jarmanpreet Singh
Pardeep Singh

Manpreet Singh
Chinglensana Singh Kangujam
Simranjit Singh
Nilakanta Sharma
Hardik Singh
Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
Vivek Sagar Prasad

S V Sunil
Akashdeep Singh
Gurjant Singh
Mandeep Singh
Dilpreet Singh
Sumit Kumar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

15 − eight =