ICC Cricket World Cup: Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar in India squad


After making a couple of surprise inclusions, the BCCI senior team selection committee picked the India’s World Cup squad in Mumbai on Monday.

Chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad and BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Chaudhary along with the committee members met to announce the squad to be led by Virat Kohli.

In the 15-member team, Vijay Shankar and Dinesh Karthik are the surprise inclusions while Ambati Rayudu and Rishab Pant have been left out for the upcoming World Cup 2019 in England and Wales.

Even Ravindra Jadeja has found a place in the team.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik.

India open their campaign for a third World Cup crown on June 5 against South Africa at Southampton.

There are two warm-up matches – against New Zealand at The Oval on May 25 and against Bangladesh at Cardiff on May 28.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

1 × four =