India beat Bangladesh to win seventh Asia Cup title


Dubai, September 29: In the thrilling Asia Cup final on Friday, India pipped Bangladesh by three wickets to clinch their seventh title here.

Defending champions India took all the 50 overs to chase down Bangladesh’s 222 that opener Liton Das helped setup scoring a brilliant 121. Apart from Liton, Mehidy Hasan (32) and Soumya Sarkar (33), none of the Bangla batsman reached double figures in the summit clash. Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav led from the front claiming three wickets Kedar Jadhav bagged two.

In reply, a collective effort from the Indian batsmen led by Rohit Sharma (48), Dinesh Karthik (37), MS Dhoni (35), Ravindra Jadeja 23 and Kedar Jadhav (23 not out) helped India to win the title in entertaining final.

Brief scores: Bangladesh: 222 all out in 48.3 overs (Liton Das 121, Mehidy Hasan 32, Kuldeep Yadav 3/45, Kedar Jadhav 2/41) lost to India: 223/7 in 50.0 overs (Rohit Sharma 48, Dinesh Karthik 37, MS Dhoni 35, Kedar Jadhav 23 not out, Ravindra Jadeja 23, M. Rahman 2/38, Rubel Hussain 2/26) by 3 wickets.

India’s Asia Cup winning captains

Year       Captains

1984       Sunil Gavaskar

1988       Dilip Vengsarkar

1991       Mohammed Azarudding

1995       Mohammed Azarudding

2010       MS Dhoni

2016       (T20) MS Dhoni

2018       Rohit Sharma



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × 5 =