IPL 2020: Royal Challengers Bangalore squad prediction & strengths

PC: Twitter

Looking at the combination of the star players in the squad, Royal Challengers Bangalore have always got the cream of T20 specialists. Since the start of the lucrative league, the franchise has been marred with inconsistent performances, especially the inconsistent bowling department. They’ve always banked on skipper Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers to fire but others have failed miserably to showcase their potential.

To win the trophy, RCB has to perform as a unit rather than rely on the duo to complete the job.

Since 2008, RCB appeared thrice in the title clash but couldn’t clear the final hurdle. With the new season ahead and a refurbished line-up, RCB has again shown promise to lift their first-ever crown in the United Arab Emirates.

The Power Hitters, Speedsters & Spinners  

Bolstered with a burly batting order, Kohli and ABD make the heart. Apart from the duo, the addition of seasoned Aussie captain Aaron Finch, Parthiv Patel, Josh Philippe and upcoming Indian youngster Devdutt Padikkal are some of the big hitters. With the top-order packed, the middle and lower-order features Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube and Chris Morris.

As mentioned earlier, RCB doesn’t seem to get their bowling combination perfect. Every season, it’s the same old story but they don’t seem to rectify the mistakes. If Dale Steyn is supremely fit, he could win you a game but it all matters on his fitness and form. And also, Umesh Yadav can get you early breakthroughs and even during death, but erratic line and length could derail the game strategy.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal continues to Kohli’s favourite bowler and this season, Adam Zampa will join him and Moeen in the spin department.

What happened in 2019?
In the eight-team league, RCB finished last winning 5 matches out of 14.
Highest runs: Virat Kohli (464)
Highest wickets: Yuzvendra Chahal (18)

IPL 2020 prediction:

Having finished the previous edition at the bottom, fans would expect them to reach knockouts this year. Some cricket analysts are expecting RCB to win the league, but only if the playing XI strikes a balance and perform consistently. The bowlers will need to strike in regular intervals without leaking runs.

Rahul Dravid (2008-08), Kevin Pietersen (2009-2010), Anil Kumble (2009-10), Daniel Vettori (2011-12), Virat Kohli* (2011, present), Shane Watson (2017-17)

Results by Venue:
Home: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore: M-58, Ws-29, Ls-27, NR-2
Away: Ms-61, Ws-29, Ls-32, NR-0
Read under: Matches, Wins, Losses, No Result.

Squad: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Parthiv Patel, Pawan Negi, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Aaron Finch, Chris Morris, Josh Philippe, Pavan Deshpande, Dale Steyn, Shahbaz Ahamad, Isuru Udana, Adam Zampa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fourteen − ten =