Karnataka boasts balanced squad for Ranji Trophy

Karnataka captain R. Vinay Kumar. PC: KSCA

Bengaluru, November 5: With the new season six days away, the KSCA senior selection committee announced the Karnataka squad for the Ranji Trophy on Monday.

After a dismal show in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, Karnataka have banked on R. Vinay Kumar to don the skipper’s hat for their opening clash against Vidarbha, to be played at Nagpur from November 12 to 15.

This will be Vinay’s hundredth Ranji Trophy game.

The selectors have picked a squad that looks balanced with middle-order batsman KV Siddharth finding a place in the line-up. Leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal and left-arm spinner Suchith J. are the only spinners in the team that boasts five pacers.

Seasoned wicket keeper CM Gautam has made way for the young and promising Sharath BR while Sharath Srinivas is the second ’keeper in the team coached by Yere Goud and bowling coach Arvind S.

Despite performing in the top flight league and all-India tournaments, KC Cariappa has been again ignored by the selection committee.

Team: Vinay Kumar R (captain), Karun Nair, Samarth R, Nischal D, Pavan Deshpande, Siddharth KV, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, Mithun A, Prasidh M Krishna, Suchith J, Ronit More, Shishir Bhavane, Sharath BR (wk), Sharath Srinivas (wk), Coach: Yere K Goud, Bowling Coach: Arvind S.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

18 − 16 =