Karnataka Golf Festival: Bengaluru golfers dominate


Bengaluru, September 21: Bengaluru golfers continued their dominance of the 10thSara Futura Karnataka Golf Festival on Friday, grabbing nine of the 10 winners spots after two days of competitive and exciting golf at the Karnataka Golf Association, as South India’s largest amateur golf championship braced itself for a star-studded weekend.

Besides professional women golfers Neha Tripathi and Anisha Padukone, who would be conducting golf clinics for beginners, present and former India cricketers like Karun Nair, Ajit Agarkar and Subramaniam Badrinath among others are also scheduled to tee off at the KGA over the weekend.

Friday’s winners across the five handicap categories were Manish Jaiswal in the 21-24 category with 39 points, Suresh Raj (16-20, 34 pts), Ajhoy Sharma (11-15, 34 pts), Dayamay Tiwari (6-10, 40 points) and Raunil Kukar (0-5, 38 pts), all hailing from the city.

On the opening day on Thursday, one out of the five winners was from Hyderabad. Over 500 golfers, including more than 100 outstation golfers from 16 cities and towns of India, are in action at the 10thSara Futura KGF.

The tournament will also serve as the Official Qualifiers for the World Amateur Golfers Championship (WAGC), the world’s largest amateur championship, scheduled in Johor, Malaysia, in end October.

The five best scores from each of the handicap categories over four days will make it to Malaysia to represent India, where teams from more than 35 countries are expected to participate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

sixteen + 5 =