KPL-8: BS Chandrasekhar, Kichcha Sudeep unveil trophy


Bengaluru, August 13: Legendary Indian cricketer BS Chandrasekhar, India women’s cricketer Veda Krishnamurthy and Sandalwood superstar Kichcha Sudeep unveiled the trophy for the eighth edition of the Karnataka Premier League here on Tuesday.

On the occasion of the trophy launch, KSCA announced to field three women’s teams to play six matches during the course of KPL. The games will be held on August 18th, 19th, 20th, 22nd, 23rd and 24th.

Santhosh Menon, Assistant Secretary said, “Three franchises have agreed to sponsor the women’s teams. The three teams will play against each other twice in Bangalore. In Mysore, there will be one exhibition match like we usually have. The teams for the exhibition match will be picked from the pool of players from those three teams.”

Speaking about the KPL, Chandrasekhar said: “I am extremely happy to be here on this wonderful occasion of launching the trophy for the eighth edition. Not only have the organisers conducted this for seven years before this, but they have also done it successfully. I wish all the players the very best of luck. The KPL, I hope, will produce players not only for the IPL (Indian Premier League) but also for the national side.”

Sudeep took the chance to laud the KSCA for their commitment to exposing young talent in the state. “When we got the chance to play in the KPL (referring to the team of celebrities – Rockstars – who featured in the KPL for three seasons), we were grateful for the opportunity. We did not know that we would interact with such cricketers in our lives. Unknown cricketers have the chance to become big names because of the KPL. There isn’t a bigger platform in Karnataka.”

Bangalore will host 15 games, while Mysore will witness 10 matches, including the playoffs. Hubli, which was supposed to host seven contests between August 22 and August 25, was declared a no-show as a venue due to inclement weather.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

sixteen + eighteen =