KSCA League: South End Sports Club win V Division title

Standing (L to R) – Sri Hari GN, Shreyas VR, Neeraj, Vivek Choudhary, Abhirudh BN, Naveen M, Mohit Kumar Sitting (L to R) – Sharath KM, Mukunda G, Ramesh Gowda CN (Coach), Mahesh K, Ranganath (Secretary), Nanjegowda (Co-Ordinator), Pradeep G (Captain), Dhanaji Venkat Rao, Jaideep Rawat.

Bengaluru, February 21: Sharath KM (5/41) and Jaideep Rawat (5/26) grabbed a five-wicket haul each as South End Sports Club recorded a 107-run win over Whirlwind Cricketers in the final of the KSCA Group I – V Division Cricket League for the JB Mallaradhya Trophy.

In the title clash played at the Indian Air Force ground here, Sayan Arjun bagged seven wickets to crash South End for 230. Contributions from Vivek (45), D Venkat Rao (36), Naveen (44) and Mukunda G (32) steered them to post a healthy total on the board.

In reply, Whirlwind were shot out for 197. Advaith BJ (34), Melu Kranthi Kumar (36) and Rohan Shah (31) topped the scoring charts. Mohit Kumar led the bowling attack taking with four wickets; Jaideep Rawat claimed three while Sharath KM took two.

With a 33-run lead from the first innings, South End piled up 168 for 6 in the allotted 30 overs. Vivek made 49 while Pradeep G remained unbeaten on 54 to give their side a defendable target. Melu Kranthi Kumar, Akhil G and Sayan Arjun picked up two wickets apiece.

In chase of 201, Sharath and Jaideep struck in tandem to bowl Whirlwind out for a meagre 94.

From the next season, South End and Whirlwind will feature in the KSCA Group I – IV Division League.

Brief scores: South End Sports Club: 230 all out in 51.4 overs [Mahesh K 24, Vivek 45, D Venkat Rao 36, Naveen 44, Mukunda G 32, Sayan Arjun 7/53] and 2 nd Innings: 168 for 6 in 30 overs [Mahesh K 25, Vivek 49, Pradeep G 54 not out, Melu Kranthi Kumar 2/73, Akhil G 2/56, Sayan Arjun 2/36] beat Whirlwind Cricketers: 197 all out in 53.5 overs [Advaith BJ 34, Melu Kranthi Kumar 36, Shivsharan A Raheja 24, Rohan R Shah 31, Shashwik Shetty 25, Mohit Kumar A 4/59, Sharath KM 2/44, Jaideep Rawat 3/41] and 2 nd Innings: 94 all out in 22.3 overs [Anuraj P 28, Sharath KM 5/41, Jaideep Rawat 5/26] by 107 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 × one =