Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Karun Nair to lead Karnataka against Tamil Nadu

Karun Nair

Bengaluru, December 4: With two back-to-back titles – Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy – in their bag, this season, the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) senior selection committee announced a strong and young squad for their upcoming Ranji Trophy Group ‘B’ clash on Monday.

In their opening encounter to be played at NPR College Ground, Dindigul, Karnataka will take on Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy finalists Tamil Nadu. The Dinesh Karthik-led side will be looking to avenge their T20 final loss in their home state.

Meanwhile, Karun Nair, who is having a quiet season so far with the bat, will be looking to make a mark as skipper of the squad. Manish Pandey and KL Rahul are on national duty for the forthcoming T20 series against the West Indies, starting on Friday.

Missing in action for Karnataka this year will be state’s 2018-19 edition highest scorer KV Siddharth – who has picked up a shoulder injury.

In-form pacer Ronit More is expected to lead the bowling attack and joining him will be all-rounder David Mathias and Koushik V. Owing to his impressive run in the various KSCA tournaments, right-arm medium pacer KS Devaiah is rewarded with a place in the team.

Furthermore, Karnataka has four opening batsmen in their ranks – Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, Nischal D and Samarth R – and the team management has a task in hand to pick the right combination for the opening slot.

Boasting an experienced spin department will be the troika of Gowtham K, Shreyas Gopal and Suchith J.  Apart from giving Karnataka a variety with spin, the trio double up as all-rounders – an added advantage for Karnataka with the bat.

Team: Karun Nair (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, Nischal D, Samarth R, Pavan Deshpande, Gowtham K, Shreyas Gopal (Vice-captain), Suchith J, Sharath BR (WK), Sharath Srinivas (WK), Ronit More, David Mathias, Koushik V, KS Devaiah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

one + sixteen =