Ranji Trophy: Karnataka off to a confident start

Karnataka skipper R. Vinay Kumar (left) receives a signed jersey from Raghuram Bhat in Nagpur on Monday. PC: APRAMEYAC/Twitter

Nagpur, November 12: Karnataka began their Ranji Trophy season with a confident start against defending champions Vidarbha on the opening day at the VCA, here on Monday.

Electing to bat first on their home turf, Vidarbha were 245 for 8 at close of play as the visitors’ bowling attack led by medium pacer Abhimanyu Mithun (3/32) and J Suchith (3/25) struck in regular intervals. At the end of day’s play, Shrikanth Wagh reamained unbeaten on 37 along with Lalit Yadav (7 batting).

Karnataka captain R Vinay Kumar, playing his hundredth Ranji Trophy game picked a wicket while Stuart Binny also grabbed an important wicket of the experienced Wasim Jaffer (41).

Former Karnataka batsman Ganesh Satish (57, 141b, 7×4) starred for the hosts with a brilliant half century while Akshay Wadkar made 31.

Brief scores: Vidharbha: 245/8 in 87 overs (Faiz Fazal 22, Wasim Jaffer 41, Ganesh Satish 57 (141b, 7×4), Akshay Wadkar 31, Shrikanth Wagh 37 batting; Abhimanyu Mithun 3/32, J Suchith 3/25, R Vinay Kumar 1/34, Stuart Binny 1/38) vs Karnataka.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 + 8 =