Ranji Trophy semifinals: Its Karnataka vs Saurashtra


Bengaluru, January 23: Eight-time Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka are all set to take on Saurashtra in the semifinal clash at their home ground M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Thursday.

Led by the seasoned pro Manish Pandey, Karnataka sport a strong and in-form outfit in their 32nd semifinal game in the Ranji Trophy history. Meanwhile, Karnataka will be facing Jaydev Unadkat-skippered Saurashtra for the first time.

Having won their last-eight game in a convincing fashion, Saurashtra is now bolstered with the return of Test star Cheteshwar Pujara in their ranks along with Harvik Desai and Sheldon Jackson.

In their previous clash in the Elite Group A league game, Karnataka went down by 87 runs at Rajkot. And now, the hosts will be looking to avenge that loss to seal their spot in the final.

En route to their last-four match, Karnataka overcame a stiff challenge from Rajasthan at the same venue last week. But Saurashtra seem to be brimming in confidence following their record-breaking chase in the quarterfinals against Uttar Pradesh in Lucknow. Saurashtra overhauled a target of 373 to record a six-wicket win.

Pujara factor:  
Karnataka will have a daunting task tackling Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara. Having returned from a successful tour of Australia, Pujara could be a tough customer for the hosts’ bowling unit. The interesting fact is – Pujara made his Test debut at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium and the venue is quite special. And also, the right-hander averages a splendid 68.01 in the Ranji Trophy and has scored two centuries and three fifties against Karnataka. In 2013, Pujara smashed 352 against Karnataka in the knockout game.

Watch out for Siddharth & Nischal: These two youngsters from Karnataka are in impressive form and have played a key role in the campaign. Siddharth has amassed 708 runs from nine matches followed by Nischal with 620 runs.

32nd semifinal for Karnataka:
This is Karnataka’s 32nd Ranji Trophy semifinal. The hosts have won on 14 occasions to make the final while Saurashtra entered their sixth.

Teams: Karnataka: Manish Pandey (captain), Shreyas Gopal  (vice-captain), Vinay Kumar R, Mayank Agarwal, Nischal D, Karun Nair, Samarth R, Mithun A, Ronit More, Gowtham K, Prasidh M Krishna, Siddharth KV, Suchith J, Sharath BR (WK), Sharath Srinivas (WK).

Saurashtra: Arpit Vasavada, Jaydev Unadkat (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Snell Patel     (WK), Harvik Desai, Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, Avi Barat, Kishan Parmar, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Hardik Rathod, Vandit Jivrajani, Kamlesh Makwana, Chetan Sakariya, Vishwaraj Jadeja,                

Stats by Channagiri Keshavmurthy

Ranji Trophy: Kanataka vs Saurashtra

Highest Total in an Innings

Total Venue Season
570 Rajkot 2006/07
718-9 Rajkot 2012/13

Lowest Total in an innings

Total Venue Season
91 Rajkot 2018/19
79 Rajkot 2018/19

Highest Individual Score

Teams  Score Player Venue Season
Karnataka 177 MK Pandey Rajkot 2012/13
Saurashtra 352 CA Pujara Rajkot 2012/13

Best Innings Bowling

 Teams W/RC Player Venue Season
Karnataka 6-111 J Suchith Rajkot 2018/19
Saurashtra 7-103 DA Jadeja Rajkot 2018/19

Best Match Bowling

 Teams W/RC Player Venue Season
Karnataka 10-142 D Ganesh Bangalore 1998/99
Saurashtra 11-147 DA Jadeja Rajkot 2018/19

Way to Semifinals by Karnataka in 2018/19

Start Date vs Venue Result for Karnataka
Nov 12, 2018 Vid Nagpur Drawn – Lead Gained
Nov 20,2018 Mum Belagavi Drawn – Lead Gained
Nov 28,2018 Mah Mysore Won by 7 wkts
Dec 06, 2018 Sau Rajkot Lost by 87 runs
Dec 14, 2018 Guj Surat Drawn – Lead Gained
Dec 22, 2018 Rlys Shimoga Won by 176 runs
Dec 30, 2018 Chgh Bengaluru (Alur) Won by 198 runs
Jan 07, 2019 Bar Vadodara Lost by 2 wkts

Way to Semi Finals by Saurashtra in 2018/19

Start Date vs Venue Result for Saurashtra
Nov 1, 2018 Cha Rajkot drawn – lead gained
Nov 12, 2018 Rly Rajkot won by 3 wkts
Nov 20, 2018 Guj Nadiad drawn – lead gained
Nov 28, 2018 Bar Rajkot drawn – lead conceded
Dec 6, 2018 Knk Rajkot won by 87 runs
Dec 14, 2018 Mah Nasik won by 5 wkts
Dec 22, 2018 Mum Mumbai drawn – lead conceded
Jan 7, 2019 Vid Rajkot drawn – lead gained
Jan 15, 2019 (Q/F) UP Lucknow won by 6 wkts
Played Won Lost Drawn
9 4 0 5

Most Runs in 2018/19 (300 & above)

Karnataka Runs Mts
KV Siddharth 708 9
D Nischal 620 9
Shreyas Gopal 376 9
MK Pandey 351 4
R Vinay Kumar 312 6
Saurashtra Runs Mts
HM Desai 738 9
SP Jackson 691 9
SS Patel 561 9
AV Vasvada 455 9
JN Shah 427 5
PN Mankad 360 8
VM Jadeja 317 4


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

seventeen − thirteen =