Ranji Trophy: Shreyas Gopal to lead Karnataka

PC: IPL/Twitter

Karun Nair, Sanaya Takariwala to tie knot on 16th January

With senior players on national duty and captain Karun Nair preparing for his wedding, the Karnataka senior selection committee has named Shreyas Gopal of the state team for the upcoming Ranji Trophy Elite group clash against Saurashtra to be played at Rajkot from Saturday.

Being the most experienced cricketer in the announced squad after Mithun A, Shreyas will field a young squad against Jaydev Unadkat-skippered team.

Going into this away fixture, Karnataka are placed second on the table with 16 points from four matches while Saurashtra are fifth with 13 points. In the previous game against Mumbai, Karnataka comfortably beat Mumbai by five wickets. Meanwhile, the hosts Saurashtra went down to Uttar Pradesh by an innings and 72 runs.

Having been ruled out of action since the start of the season, Karnataka’s top-scorer from the previous edition of Ranji Trophy, middle-order batsman Siddharth KV is back after recovering from a shoulder injury.

It has to be seen if Siddharth will break into the playing XI on Saturday.

Team: Shreyas Gopal (Captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Nischal D, Samarth R, Siddharth KV, Sharath BR (WK), Rohan Kadam, Pavan Deshpande, Suchith J, Mithun A, Koushik V, Prateek Jain, Ronit More, Sharath Srinivas (WK), Pravin Dubey, Coach: Yere K Goud, Bowling Coach: Arvind S, Fielding Coach: Shabarish P Mohan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × two =