Ranji Trophy: Vinay Kumar returns, Karnataka take on Maharashtra

File Photo. PC: Twitter

Mysuru, November 27: With two back-to-back first innings lead points against Mumbai and defending champions Vidarbha, Karnataka have certainly got their Ranji Trophy campaign on the right track.

On Wednesday, Karnataka, with two changes to their squad, will take on Maharastra in their third match of the Elite Group A in Mysuru. Abhishek Reddy and youngster Devdutt Padikkal have earned their place in the team replacing Shishir Bhavane and experienced Stuart Binny.

All-rounder Binny managed only 53 runs in four innings and only taking one wicket in two Ranji games this season while Shishir scoring ten in two innings.

Skipper R. Vinay Kumar will return to the squad after missing out on the last game owing to a neck injury. The comeback will definitely boost the bowling attack but will Karnataka field four pacers along with two spinners – J. Suchith and Shreyas Gopal.

The Mysuru wicket has often supported the medium pacers and the hosts boast one of the best bowling departments in the domestic circuit. Ronit More, who made the playing XI in the place of Vinay, is likely to continue his role. It is more likely that seasoned speedster Abhimanyu Mithun and young Prasidh Krishna will make the XI.

Meanwhile, the rivals Maharashtra are placed seventh in the table with four points from two games.

Team: Vinay Kumar R (captain), Shreyas Gopal (vice-captain), Nischal D, Siddharth KV, Mir Kaunain Abbas, Devdutt Padikkal, Sharath BR (WK), Suchith J, Mithun A, Prasidh M Krishna, Ronit More, Abhishek Reddy, Pavan Deshpande, Sharath Srinivas (Wk), Liyan Khan, Coach: Yere K Goud, Bowling coach: Arvind S, Fielding coach : Sri Shabarish Mohan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × three =