Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Karnataka thump Haryana, face TN in final


Bengaluru, November 29: In a thrilling high-scoring clash in Surat on Friday witnessed domestic powerhouse and defending champions Karnataka record an eight-wicket win against Haryana to enter the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

In the title clash, Karnataka will take on Tamil Nadu, who beat Rajasthan by seven wickets in a lop-sided second semifinal at the same venue.

In the first semifinal, Karnataka spearhead Abhimanyu Mithun became the first bowler in all formats to take five wickets in an over. The right-arm pacer bagged five wickets in the 20th over to set a new record to finish with figures 5/39.

Batting first on a friendly surface at the Lalabhai Contractor Stadium, contributions from Chaitanya Bishnoi (55), Harshal Patel (34), Himanshu Rana (61) and Rahul Tewatia (32) powered Haryana post a handsome 194/8.

A mountain to climb, Karnataka openers Devdutt Padikkal (87) and KL Rahul (66) pressed the accelerator to pile up 125 in less than ten overs. The champions then cruised home as Mayank Agarwal (30 not out) and skipper Manish Pandey (3 not out) to complete the formalities.

Karnataka will face Tamil Nadu on Sunday. Live on Star Sports 1 – 6.50 PM onwards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × 5 =