Vijay Hazare trophy: Ambati Rayudu, Sandeep star as Hyderabad edge out Karnataka

PC: Shreyas Gopal/Facebook

Bengaluru, October 1: After recording two convincing back-to-back victories, Karnataka slumped to a resilient Hyderabad by 21 runs in their Vijay Hazare Trophy encounter, here at the Alur ground on Tuesday.

Electing to bowl first, the hosts had Hyderabad in trouble with wickets tumbling in regular intervals as Karnataka pace troika Abhimanyu Mithun (2/34), Prasidh Krishna (2/35) and Ronit More (2/31) striking from either ends. The visitors’ skipper Ambati Rayudu stood rock solid scoring a match-winning 111-ball 87 not out that included four hits to the fence and three over it. From the lower order, Chama Milind contributed a 40-ball 36 to guide them to a respectable target on the board.

In chase of the modest total, the hosts lost their star batter KL Rahul (4) while Karun Nair failed to open his account. Youngster Devdutt Padikkal (60, 104, 6×4) helped his side recover from the slump along with captain Manish Pandey (48).

Following Padikkal and Pandey’s departure, Karnataka middle-order collapsed as B. Sandeep bagged a four-wicket haul.

Karnataka next faces Chhattisgarh at the M. Chinnaswamy on Wednesday.

Brief scores: Hyderabad: 198/9 in 50 overs (Ambati Rayudu 87 not out, Chama Milind 36, Abhimanyu Mithun 2/34, Prasidh Krishna 2/35, Ronit More 2/31) bt Karnataka: 177 all out in 45.2 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 60, Manish Pandey 48, Mohammed Siraj 2/38, B. Sandeep 4/35) by 21 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 + 16 =