Vijay Hazare Trophy: Champs Karnataka eye for a winning start

PC: Facebook

Bengaluru, September 19: On Thursday, defending champions Karnataka will lock horn with Maharashtra in their elite Group A tie of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

In the previous season, Karnataka lifted the coveted limited overs title under the leadership of Karun Nair and this year, seasoned captain R Vinay Kumar will look for an encore with the league round matches at their home soil.
With star players KL Rahul and Manish Pandey on national duty at the ongoing Asia Cup, Karnataka will surely miss their services.
Meanwhile, run machine Mayank Agarwal, who’s form is in pink of health, will look to continue his show with the bat. The hosts will also bank on vice captain Karun to fire along with all-rounders Stuart and Krishnappa Gowtham, Pawan Deshpande and Shreyas Gopal.
Karnataka also boasts a strong bowling line-up with Vinay leading from the front with partners Abhimanyu Mithun and Prasidh Krishna in their ranks.
The visitors Maharashtra have already tasted victory registering a comfortable five-wicket win over Goa in their opening encounter.


Karnataka: R Vinay Kumar(Captain), Mayank Agarwal, R Samarth, Karun Nair, Pavan Deshpande, CM Gautham (WK), Stuart Binny, K Gautham, Shreyas Gopal, A Mithun, Prasidh Krishna, J Suchit, BR Sharat, Abhishek Reddy, Naveen MG.

Maharastra: Rahul Tripati(Captain), Prashant Kore, Ankit Bawne, Satyajeet Bachhav, Mandar Bhandari, Samad Fallah, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Swapnil Gugale, Atharva Kale, Shamshuzama Kazi, Rohit Motwani, Mukesh Choudhary, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashay Palkar, Jay Pande, Anupam Sanklecha.


Match starts: 9 am IST
Venue: M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 + fourteen =