Vijay Hazare Trophy final: Karnataka beat Tamil Nadu to win fourth title


Bengaluru, October 25: Abhimanyu Mithun’s cracking five-wicket haul laced with match-winning unbeaten innings from Mayank Agarwal (69 not out) and KL Rahul (52 not out) powered Karnataka to their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title defeating Tamil Nadu in a rain-truncated final, here on Friday.

Karnataka took home the trophy by winning the game by 60 runs (VJD method).

Having sent to bat first at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on a cloudy morning, Tamil Nadu managed to post a healthy target on the board through fifties from seasoned Abinav Mukund (85) and Baba Aparajith (66). But birthday boy Mithun stole the show with his maiden hat-trick in the 50th over of the first innings to pick Shahrukh Khan (49.3), M Mohammed (49.4) and Murugan Ashwin (49.5). From 224 for 5 in the 45th over, the visitors collapsed to 252 all out.

The speedster Mithun became the first Karnataka bowler and second to bag five or more wickets in an innings in Vijay Hazare Trophy final.

In reply, Karnataka lost their in-form batsman Devdutt Padikkal after he was foxed by Washington Sundar’s delivery, early in the innings. Later, Mayank joined Rahul to accelerate the scoring as the Tamil Nadu bowlers failed to make any impact as the heavens opened when Karnataka were cruising at 146/1 – way above the required par score (86/1).

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu: 252 all out in 49.5 overs (Abinav Mukund 85, Baba Aparajith 66, Vijay Shankar 38, Shahrukh Khan 27, Abhimanyu Mithun 5/34, V Koushik 2/39) lost to Karnataka: 146/1 in 23 overs (KL Rahul 52 not out, Mayank Agarwal 69 not out) by 60 runs (VJD method)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

ten − 5 =