Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka face Tamil Nadu in final


Hosts Karnataka cruise past Chhattisgarh; Tamil Nadu clinch thriller against Gujarat

Bengaluru, October 23: It was smooth-sailing for the hosts Karnataka in the semifinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy against Chhattisgarh on Wednesday at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Match-winning innings from Karnataka openers Devdutt Padikkal (92, 98b, 7×4, 3×6) and KL Rahul (88 not out, 111b, 6×4, 1×6) ensured to seal their spot in the title clash chasing down of a modest 223 posted by a fighting Chhattisgarh.

Having asked to bat first, the visitors were quickly pushed on the back-foot as pacer V. Koushik (4/26) made early inroads for Karnataka. In a rescue attempt, the middle-order chipped in with some useful contributions with Amandeep Khare (78, 102b, 4×4) leading the scoring charts for Chhattisgarh. Their skipper Harpreet Singh (25), Ajay Mandal (26) and Sumit Ruikar (40) from the tail battled till the end to post a decent total on the board to defend.

In the race to the target, Karnataka openers Padikkal and Rahul accelerated from the beginning to add 155 runs for the first wicket. With 68 runs more to get, India opener Mayank Agarwal (47 not out, 33b, 3×4, 4×6) joined Rahul to give the finishing touches with an entertaining knock.

Tamil Nadu breeze past Gujarat

In a rain-curtailed thrilling semifinal which was a 40-over encounter at the Just Cricket Academy Ground, Tamil Nadu powered into the final with a five-wicket win against Gujarat.

Batting first, Dhruv Raval (40) and Axar Patel (37) helped Gujarat amass a decent 177 on the board. In reply, Shahrukh Khan (56 not out) and Dinesh Karthik (47) guided Tamil Nadu home with an over to spare.

Karnataka take on neighbours Tamil Nadu in the final on Friday (October 25) at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Brief scores: Chhattisgarh: 223 all out in 49.4 overs (Amandeep Khare 78, Harpreet Singh 25, Ajay Mandal 26, Sumit Ruikar 40, V. Koushik 4/26, Abhimanyu Mithun 2/44, K. Gowtham 2/30, Praveen Dubey 2/43) lost to Karnataka: 229/1 in 40 overs (KL Rahul 88 not out, Devdutt Padikkal 92, Mayank Agarwal 47 not out) by 9 wickets,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nineteen − 7 =