Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka return to winning ways

PC: Shreyas Gopal/Facebook

Bengaluru, September 30: After a sloppy start to the season, Karnataka returned to the winning ways registering a comfortable six-wicket win against Vidarbha at the Alur ground, here on Sunday.

Karnataka bowlers struck in regular intervals to give their side the first win of the season in four matches.

Electing to bat first, Vidarbha were bowled out for a mere 125 in 36.2 overs. Atharava Taide (32) and former Karnataka batsman Ganesh Satish (50) were the top-scorers for the visitors.

For the defending champions Karnataka, R. Vinay Kumar (2/20), K. Gowtham (3/34) and Shreyas Gopal (3/13) were the chief wreckers.

In reply, Karnataka lost four wickets while chasing down the paltry target in 32.3 overs. Mir Kaunian Abbas (35 not out) and Shreyas Gopal (34 not out) were the leading scorers for the winners.

Brief scores: Vidarbha: 125 all out in 36.2 overs (Ganesh Satish 50, Atharva Taide 32; Shreyal Gopal 3/13, K Gowtham 3/34, R Vinay Kumar 2/20, A Mithun 1/24, Naveen MG 1/31) lost to Karnataka: 129/4 in 32.3 overs (Naveen MG 23, Kaunain Abbas 35 not out, Shreyas Gopal 34 not out; Ravi Thakur 3/22) by six wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fifteen + 12 =