Vijay Hazare Trophy: Manish Pandey’s unbeaten ton fires Karnataka

PC: twitter/im_manishpandey

Bengaluru, October 2: Powered by skipper Manish Pandey’s aggressive century, Karnataka registered a comfortable 79-run over Chhattisgarh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, here on Wednesday.

Following their stunning loss to Hyderabad, Karnataka returned to winning ways to record their third win in five matches. Karnataka made 285 in the stipulated 50 overs and later bowled out the visitors for 206 to take full points.

Batting first, Karnataka were off to a disastrous start losing two wickets in quick succession. Later, Pandey (142 not out, 118b, 5×4, 7×6) and KL Rahul (81, 103b, 6×4, 1×6) added 150 runs for the fourth wicket to lay a strong foundation for a big total on the board.

Following Rahul’s departure, Pandey took charge to keep the scoring rate but wickets tumbled in the other end. Apart from Pandey and Rahul none of Karnataka batsmen made an effort to stay at the crease.

In reply, Chhattisgarh batsmen worked on building small partnerships but it wasn’t enough to take past the target. Shashank Chandraker (42), Ashutosh Singh (32) and Amandeep Khare (43) were the chief contributors. Speedster Prasidh Krishna and leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal claimed three wickets each while pacer Ronit More bagged two for the winners.

Brief scores: Karnataka: 285/7 in 50 overs (KL Rahul 81, Manish Pandey 142, Puneet Datey 2/60, Shashank Singh 66) bt Chhattisgarh: 206 all out in 44.4 overs (Shashank Chandraker 42, Ashutosh Singh 32, Amandeep Khare 43, Prasidh Krishna 3/31, Ronit More 2/52, Shreyas Gopal 3/53) by 79 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

thirteen + fourteen =