Vijay Hazare Trophy: Samarth misses ton, Karnataka register second win


Bengaluru, October 6: Defending champions Karnataka recorded second win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy defeating Himachal Pradesh by 35 runs via VJD method.

In a rain truncated clash reduced to 38-over-a-side, Karnataka rode on Ravikumar Samarth narrowly missed out on a century scoring a 97-ball 98 (11×4) to post a defendable 257. Skipper Manish Pandey (43, 43b, 4×4, 1×6) and Anirudha Joshi (42, 31b, 6×4) came up with some useful contributions.

Rishi Dhawan grabbed three wickets while Prashant Chopra took two for the visitors.

In chase of the big target, Himachal Pradesh were bowled out for 162. Prashant Chopra top-scored with quick 45-ball 67 (11×4, 2×6) while Ankush Bains made 26. Pacer T Pradeep 4/35 and off-spinner K Gowtham took two wickets each for the winners.

Brief scores: Karnataka: 257/8 in 38 overs (R Samarth 98, Manish Pandey 43, Anirudha Joshi 42; Rishi Dhawan 3/57, Prashant Chopra 2/20) beat Himachal Pradesh: 162 all out in 25.3 overs (Prashant Chopra 67, Ankush Bains 26; T Pradeep 4/35, K Gowtham 4/26) by 35 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

12 − 3 =