Youth Olympics Hockey: Vivek, Salima to lead India squads


New Delhi: Hockey India today announced the Indian U18 Men’s and Women’s Hockey Teams for the Hockey 5’s competition to be held at the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games from 6th – 18th October, 2018. Both the teams will have a total of 9 members in the squad, which consists of two Goalkeepers, two Defenders, two Midfielders and three Forwards.

The Men’s team will be led by their Midfielder Vivek Sagar Prasad, while Goalkeeper Prashant Kumar Chauhan will act as his deputy. Whereas, the Captaincy of the Women’s team has been given to Defender Salima Tete, with Forward Lalremsiami being the Vice-Captain.

Both the teams have been chosen keeping in mind the requirements of the fast-paced 5-a-side competition and consist of players who have recently gained international exposure as they participated in the Junior Invitational Tournament in Belgium last month.

The Junior Men’s team consists of Goalkeepers Prashant Kumar Chauhan and Pawan, Defenders Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem and Sanjay, Midfielders Vivek Sagar Prasad and Maninder Singh, and Forwards Shivam Anand, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar and Sudeep Chirmako.


Indian U18 Men’s Team:

Vivek Sagar Prasad

Goalkeepers: Prashant Kumar Chauhan (Vice Captain), Pawan

Defenders: Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem, Sanjay

Midfielders: Vivek Sagar Prasad (Captain), Maninder Singh

Forwards: Shivam Anand, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar, Sudeep Chirmako


Indian U18Women’s Team:

Salima Tete

Goalkeepers: Bichu Devi Kharibam, Khushboo

Defenders: Ishika Chaudhary, Salima Tete (Captain)

Midfielders: Reet, Chetna

Forwards: Sangita Kumari, Mumtaz Khan, Lalremsiami (Vice Captain)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

four × two =