Wheelchair Tennis: Easy wins for Shekar Veerasamy, Balachandra

Top seed Prathima N Rao in action on Thursday.

Bengaluru, December 6: Top two seeds Shekar Veerasamy (1) and Balachandra S (2) had an easy sailing into the next round while Day 1 saw a minor upset in sixth seed Anil DA of Karnataka, who became the first casualty at the hands of unseeded compatriot Madhusudan H in the Tabebui Open AITA-ranked all-India Wheelchair Tennis Tournament at the KSLTA organised by Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour (IWTT) here on Thusday.

In the women’s section, top seed Prthima N Rao of Bengaluru beat fifth seeded Nalini Kumari, also from Karnataka, to reach the semifinals while Ruth Rajeswari of Tamil Nadu defeated Shilpa K 8-5 and will take on 4th seed Khushboo J Ganatra in the second round.

Results: Men’s singles: Shekar Veerasamy bt Alexander S 8-4; Karthik K bt Saravanan D 8-0; Mariyappan D bt Harish Rao 8-0; Anand Selvaraj bt Deve Gowda 8-0; Suresh Kumar bt Indudara 8-0; Shivaprasad bt Hanumanthappa DN 8-0; Madhusudan N bt Gabriel M 8-0; Balachandra S bt Sathasivam K 8-1.

Women’s Singles (2nd round): Prathima N Rao bt Nalini Kumari 8-5; First round: A Ruth Rajeswari bt Shilpa K 8-5; Geetha Chouhan bt Stella 8-6; Bismilla Mullah bt Manjula SH 8-4.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

9 − 2 =