Yamuna win Women’s Cricket League title


Bengaluru, August 8: Powered by a fine all-round show from trio Debasmita Dutta (3/7 & 29 not out), Adithi Rajesh (20 & 2/8) and Veda Krishnamurthy (16 & 2/12), Yamuna clinched the inaugural season of the Women’s Cricket League title, here on Thursday.

In a rain-truncated title clash, Yamuna took home the crown owing to a better rate than the rivals Kaveri. Yamuna also won a cash prize of INR 30,000 while runners-up Kaveri received INR 20,000.

Batting first, Kaveri managed to post a decent 89/7 in the allotted 20 overs while Yamuna were cruising at 83/6 in 17.4 overs before the heavens opened up.

Vrinda Dinesh of champions Yamuna was named the Player of the series while team-mate Veda Krishnamurthy was adjudged the best batswoman and Prathyusha C of Narmada bagged the best bowler award.

Brief scores (final): Kaveri: 89 for 7 in 20 overs (Veda Krishnamurthy 16, Prerana GR 19, Adithi Rajesh 20, Soumya M 2/17, Debasmita Dutta 3/7) lost to Yamuna: 83 for 6 in 17.4 overs (Vrinda Dinesh 18, Debasmita Dutta 29 not out, Adithi Rajesh 2/8 Veda Krishnamurthy 2/12] by better run rate.

Special awards: Best batswoman – Veda Krishnamurthy (Kaveri), Best Bowler – Prathyusha C (Narmada), Best All-rounder – Adithi Rajesh (Kaveri), Best Wicket Keeper – Sanjana Batni (Narmada), Best Fielder – Debasmita Dutta (Yamuna), Best catch of the tournament – Veda Krishnamurthy (Kaveri), Player of the series– Vrinda Dinesh (Yamuna).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

sixteen + 11 =